recording – Hallowed Skein of Stars

Okay, here is the recording.  I made it last night using my little Creative Zen MP3 player, then edited in Audacity (yes I’m a geek, at least to a degree).

If you are clever, from that link you can access three earlier recordings that document the composition process for the song. They are in varying degrees of off-the-cuffness. What I did was to turn on the recorder and make up the lyrics/melody as I went, sometimes going back to the beginning or middle to try it out in different ways.

The song is dedicated to all the stars out there.  You know who you are.

I do quite frequently use the player to record things as I write them sometimes, and make recordings to listen to myself. This is the first time I’ve made a recording of my music publicly available, though.

I’m hoping to get some of the other songs recorded in reasonable enough shape to put them into a virtual ‘album’ as envisioned over a year ago. The title is Just Add Water – Songs of Love, Loss, and Reconstitution.

Just a string of non-linear thoughts about this song. Hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

